SCOTTY

What a bittersweet day. My final full day here. As expected, the rain was heavy once again, but only once we had already headed out. I bumped into Emily at breakfast and we headed to the beach. Despite being here for three days, I had omitted a trip to the beach because of the weather. I ended up going because I had to at some point. If I didn’t go now, I wouldn’t have a chance before going home. We arrived moments before the rain came on and thunder began to roll. It was heavy, but it didn’t stop me. Somehow, the sea was hotter than the sand, which only made me more enthusiastic towards swimming.

About 150m from land lied a floating platform with a diving board and a slide. Determined, I swam out to it, drinking many pints of salt water on the way, and reached the slide. Again! Again! As the rain got a bit overwhelming (but it didn’t dampen our spirits, eh? Eh?) we left, leaving behind our brief affair with the Bay of Biscay.

I headed back to finish up a blog post before heading to the train station to reserve my train for the next morning.

There were no trains with seats left.

I can’t lie, this for the most part is my fault. I forgot to do this when I arrived and I was now in a hopeless place. What annoyed me about this train however, is the fact you need to reserve seats and the trains are few and far between. So, for me with a free train pass, I could not get a seat. I said I’d be happy standing in the lobby area for the trip (it wouldn’t bother me too much), but I was told that was not possible. This is why I like Scotrail. You just get on a train and that’s it.

I was in despair and went back to the hostel in a mess. I looked at car sharing, even about renting a car and driving it to my destination, but it was too expensive. My only choice was the bus. I had to shell out 35 euros (money I could’ve done without losing) to get a bus from San Sebastian to Barcelona: seven hours. I thought that it couldn’t be much worse than what I had encountered so far, so reluctantly paid. Kick in the teeth.

After booking my travel, I met an older Scottish man who was cycling from the top of France, down to San Sebastian before a few trains would take him to meet his wife in the Valencia area. You forget how to appreciate your own country until you see the outside perspective from foreigners, or you get to meet a native abroad. Hearing a Scottish voice is really welcoming in a month where I have met a total of five.

IMG_5819.JPG

I remembered that I hadn’t drunk the wine from the night before, so I spent my evening making sandwiches for tomorrow’s bus and sipping wine. I was coaxed out for a while by the rest of the group for a quiet night. A lot of people were leaving in the morning or put off by the rain, so only a group of ten went, led by the ever-reliable Otto. I called it early (not that early considering I had to be up at half past six for my bus) and said my final goodbyes. I don’t know if it’s the fact I’ve known these guys for four days, or if everything was just generally better in this hostel, but I really am going to miss these guys the most. Otto, Jose, Michael, Ivan (glad you like the blog bro, thanks for the support), Dylan, Matt, Laura, SCOTTY, Emily, Aylin, Daniel, Camilla, Andrea, Nikki, Tess. Others too who I can’t think of off the top of my head, you’re all awesome.

 

BUDGETING:
Bus: 35 euros.
Groceries: 3.80 euros.
Total: 38.80 euros.

Breakfast: Apple, biscuits, water. Lunch: Pasta. Dinner: Noodles, lots of sandwiches.

 

June 28

Author: Michael Houston

Freelance journalist. Love all things film, sport, music and wrasslin. Multimedia Journalism graduate from Glasgow Caledonian University.

Leave a Reply

